Isaakyan wins, Fittipaldi involved in an opening-lap collision

After massive problems on Friday, the Russian Matevos Issakyan is celebrating his second Formula V8 3.5 win at the Nürburgring today. Championship leader Pietro Fittipaldi got involved in a collision at the beginning of the race.

Isaakyan had a brilliant start from P3 and managed to go down the middle polesitter Alex Palou and Lotus driver Fittipaldi. His engine got changed overnight as he was losing 0.5 seconds per lap down the straights yesterday.

Matevos Isaakyan entering the starting grid today

The SMP Racing driver was already leading by the first corner and therefore he avoided the collision, which took place behind him. Fittipaldi on P3 was rear-ended by Teo Martin Motorsport’s Alex Palou, who outraged himself at Turn 3. After that incident, the Spaniard had to make an additional stop and change his front wing.

Championship leader Fittipaldi fell down to seventh, right behind his teammate Rene Binder. The Austrian was able to improve by four places from his 10th starting position.

Overhead shot of Rene Binder on today’s starting grid

Alfonso Celis Jr. was the one who used the collision to improve himself on P2. However, race leader Isaakyan was already more than two seconds in front of him. All drivers remained static during the majority of the race and significant gaps have been built up by the respective competitors.

Race leader Isaakyan crosses the finish line

Therefore, it looked like Roy Nissany is going to finish the race in third position, but he went deep into Turn 1. The Russian Egor Orduzhev right behind him took the opportunity and overtook the RP MOTORSPORT driver securing a double podium for SMP Racing.

Obviously, both title contenders haven’t been on the podium today and Pietro Fittipaldi has lost precious championship points as he finished behind championship second-placed Rene Binder.

See the full race 1 results below:

Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Matevos Isaakyan SMP Racing by AVF 43m 26.086s
2 Alfonso Celis Fortec Motorsports 6.357s
3 Egor Orudzhev SMP Racing by AVF 19.145s
4 Roy Nissany Rp Motorsport 19.792s
5 Yu Kanamaru Rp Motorsport 35.361s
6 Rene Binder Lotus 35.828s
7 Pietro Fittipaldi Lotus 36.134s
8 Diego Menchaca Fortec Motorsports 42.254s
9 Konstantin Tereschenko Teo Martin Motorsport 43.421s
10 Damiano Fioravanti Rp Motorsport 55.198s
11 Alex Palou Teo Martin Motorsport 1m08.021s
12 Giuseppe Cipriani Il Barone Rampante 1m21.699s

See the Drivers’ Championship and the Constructor’s Championship standings by clicking on the respectitive link.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *