Hamilton on pole despite incident with Grosjean

Lewis Hamilton outclasses the competition and secures the 67th pole of his career. The FIA was investigating an incident between the Brit and Haas’ Roman Grosjean but decided not to penalize the Mercedes driver. (Photo source: T-Online.de)

In the British Grand Prix qualifications, the Brit scored a time of 1:26:600. Both Ferrari drivers weren’t able to follow this pace and qualified respectively on P2 (Kimi Räikkönen, +0.547) and P3 (Sebastian Vettel, +0.756). Nevertheless, Hamilton had to wait until the FIA finishes the investigation against him, which was caused by blocking Romain Grosjean at Club Corner. The French finished on P10 and according to him and his team, he has lost three-tenths of a second due to that incident.

The stewards decided against a punishment and frustrated Romain Grosjean suggested that championship biased saved Lewis Hamilton’s pole position.”If a driver loses 0.350 seconds in a turn, I do not know what else can be seen as a handicap.” says the Haas driver.

Mercedes team principal Toto Wolff immediately answered Grosjean’s accusations. In his opinion, there are always “those who complain and keep on complaining. I do not even want to comment on Romain Grosjean demanding penalties for other and if he looks at his own “successes” he should be glad that he is driving in Formula One at all.” In this case, Wolff is reminding on Grosjean’s aggressive driving style back in 2012, where the French got locked for one race.

Vettel was unhappy with his qualifying performance and says that they could have done more in Q3. This morning was really good. “There was more there for us in Q3 but we couldn’t quite extract it.”, the German said during the interview on the main straight right after the session. Nevertheless, he was able to keep Valtteri Bottas behind, but it was again very tight between both of them. Kimi Räikkönen confirms that Ferrari has a good car, but “not quite fast enough for 1st place.”

Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes), Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull Racing) and Fernando Alonso (McLaren Honda) already started the session with a handicap. Valtteri and Daniel got a five-place grid penalty due to gearbox changes. The Spaniard Alonso received a 30-place grid penalty after more Honda engine component changes.

Ricciardo’s qualification finished very soon as he had to stop his car ten minutes before the end of the first section. The reason for this unplanned stop was a drive defect on his Red Bull. “I lost power, then I’ve heard strange turbo noises and suddenly everything went down. It’s a pitty because under those conditions we could have had good chances.” His stop caused a red flag for a few minutes.

Nico Hülkenberg took advantage of the rainy conditions and qualified sixth ahead of both Force India drivers. “I had a good harmony in the car, I was the boss in the car. It’s always good when it is like this and not the other way around.” The German is profiting from the penalty against Bottas and will start from P5.

Of course, we want to highlight Alonso’s Q1 performance. The Spaniard switched late on super soft tyres and crossed the finish line just before the chequered flag. Already during his run, the Spaniard told his box that they have been in time for another run and qualified P1 ahead of Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton. At the end of the day, he finished the session on P13 and got out-qualified by his teammate Vandoorne for the first time this season. “I saw people in the grandstand excited. It was only P1 in Q1 but they obviously loved seeing McLaren on top. Even if it’s just for one moment, to be up there at the top of the time sheets feels good.”, said the Spanish driver.

See the full results below:

Pos. Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3 Laps
1. L. Hamilton Mercedes 01:39.069 01:27.893 01:26.600 25
2. K. Raikkonen Ferrari 01:40.455 01:28.992 01:27.147 25
3. S. Vettel Ferrari 01:39.962 01:28.978 01:27.356 23
4. V. Bottas Mercedes 01:39.698 01:28.732 01:27.376 26
5. M. Verstappen Red Bull 01:38.912 01:29.431 01:28.130 23
6. N. Hulkenberg Renault 01:39.201 01:29.340 01:28.856 21
7. S. Pérez Force India 01:42.009 01:29.824 01:28.902 26
8. E. Ocon Force India 01:39.738 01:29.701 01:29.074 25
9. S. Vandoorne McLaren 01:40.011 01:30.105 01:29.418 24
10. R. Grosjean Haas 01:42.042 01:29.966 01:29.549 26
11. J. Palmer Renault 01:41.404 01:30.193   18
12. D. Kvyat Toro Rosso 01:41.726 01:30.355   20
13. F. Alonso McLaren 01:37.598 01:30.600   17
14. C. Sainz Jr. Toro Rosso 01:41.114 01:31.368   15
15. F. Massa Williams 01:41.874 01:31.482   21
16. L. Stroll Williams 01:42.573     11
17. K. Magnussen Haas 01:42.577     11
18. P. Wehrlein Sauber 01:42.593     10
19. M. Ericsson Sauber 01:42.633     10
20. D. Ricciardo Red Bull

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *