Hamilton wins home race at Silverstone, drama for Ferrari

The Brit was leading the race from start to finish. The Mercedes team is celebrating a double win at Silverstone. Both Ferrari’s were struggling at the end of the race. Championship leader Sebastian Vettel is now only one point ahead of Lewis Hamilton. (Photo source: f1fanatic.com)

The race was fully packed with a lot of incidents from the beginning on. Right at the start, Max Verstappen (Red Bull Racing) was able to overtake Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel, who had a very bad start today. Both drivers were fighting hard for P4 during their first stints. Vettel was able to get past Verstappen due to an undercut and because a wheel clamped during the Dutchman’s pit stop.

Additionally, both Toro Rosso drivers crashed into each other during the first lap. Both drove side by side into Maggotts as Daniil Kvyat went wide and drove into his teammate when joining the track. The safety car got deployed and the Marshalls started to recovers Sainz’ car. Daniel Kvyat got penalized by the stewards for “dangerous rejoining on the track” with a drive-through penalty.

Meanwhile, Daniel Ricciardo, who started 19th was able to overtake some contenders, but made a mistake and slightly touched Kevin Magnussen’s car. He left the door open for his colleagues and dropped down to the last position again. The Australian, who got voted for “Driver of the day”, had an amazing last stint on fresh tyres and was able to overtake both Force India drivers, Kevin Magnussen (Haas F1 Team) and at the end of the day, Nico Hülkenberg (Renault F1 Team). He finished in fifth position and here’s what he had to say after the race:

Next to both Toro Rosso drivers, both Sauber guys were fighting hard as well. Like in Baku last month, they touched each other with the better end for Pascal Wehrlein. Marcus Ericsson wasn’t happy about the outcome and immediately give vent to his anger via team radio. Later on, Wehrlein reported a power loss and finished the race on P17.

With the 2017 cars the lap times dropped down a lot and therefore Lewis Hamilton was able to set a new lap record at Silverstone. He drove a 1:30:621 and dominated the weekend with a pole position, race win and the fastest lap. The drivers had to face G-Forces up to 6G this year. All drivers reported that driving on that track with those cars makes a lot of fun. Sadly, Fernando Alonso wasn’t able to enjoy the ride until the end as he had to stop his car on lap 34 due to power loss. His teammate Stoffel Vandoorne finished on P11.

The British Grand Prix stood dry, but that doesn’t mean that it was boring. Independent of Hamilton leading in the first place, the last rounds got dramatic for the team based in Maranello. With some laps left, Kimi Räikkönen got a puncture as he was driving in the second position, but was able to get back to the pits and change the tyres. At this point, it looked like his teammate Sebastian Vettel is going to benefit from this as he got promoted from P4 to P3.

The joy didn’t last very long as exactly one lap later his left front tyre started to dissolve itself. He dropped down to the seventh position after his pit stop and lost a lot of ground in the championship fight. After today’s race, the German remains in the lead, but only by 1 point ahead of Hamilton.

Already before this incident, the German reported that his tyres were blistering for 20 laps. After the race he reported his thoughts to the media: “That’s already the second race in which we have problems. The whole field had blisters.” and added that this weekend “could have been a bit better… but a disaster? I don’t think so.”

Here’s what Kimi Räikkönen had to say:

The second half of the season is going to start during the next event in Hungary. Let’s see who will be successful there.

See the race results below:

Pos. Driver Team Time  
1. L. Hamilton Mercedes 1:21:27.430  
2. V. Bottas Mercedes +14.063  
3. K. Raikkonen Ferrari +36.570  
4. M. Verstappen Red Bull +52.125  
5. D. Ricciardo Red Bull +1:05.955  
6. N. Hulkenberg Renault +1:08.109  
7. S. Vettel Ferrari +1:33.989  
8. E. Ocon Force India +1 Lap  
9. S. Pérez Force India +1 Lap  
10. F. Massa Williams +1 Lap  
11. S. Vandoorne McLaren +1 Lap  
12. K. Magnussen Haas +1 Lap  
13. R. Grosjean Haas +1 Lap  
14. M. Ericsson Sauber +1 Lap  
15. D. Kvyat Toro Rosso +1 Lap  
16. L. Stroll Williams +1 Lap  
17. P. Wehrlein Sauber +1 Lap  
  Did not finish      
18. F. Alonso McLaren +19 Laps  
19. C. Sainz Jr. Toro Rosso +51 Laps  
20. J. Palmer Renault +51 Laps  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *